Friday, February 12 2016

Home > News > Karnataka News

Bangalore South: A snapshot (Election Special)

Posted on Apr 09 2014 | IANS

Snapshot of Bangalore South Lok Sabha constituency:- Total electorate: About 2.2 million spread over eight assembly segments

- Present assembly position: Congress and BJP have four representatives each

- Candidates in Lok Sabha poll fray: 23, including 12 independents

Main contestants:

- Incumbent Ananth Kumar of BJP (five-time winner since 1996)

- Nandan Nilekani of Congress (maiden attempt)

- Ruth Manorama of Janata Dal-Secular (maiden attempt)

- Nina P. Nayak of Aam Aadmi Party (maiden attempt)

Past Performances in Bangalore South Lok Sabha seat:

- For Congress party, former state chief minister R. Gundu Rao last won in 1989

- K. Ven Gowda of BJP won in 1991

- Since then, from 1996, Ananth Kumar has won five consecutive times

- In 2009, Ananth Kumar won by 37,612 votes, polling 437,953 votes with a 48 percent share

- His close rival was Krishna Byre Gowda of Congress, who polled 400,241 votes with 44 percent share

- In 2009, polling percentage was 44.74 percent

- For 2014, number of polling stations across the constituency is 18,627

- Voting Day: Thursday, April 17

- Counting: Friday, May 16.

Latest News: