New Delhi, Apr 6 ANI | 2 years ago

The 16th Lok Sabha elections will begin tomorrow from northeast, with voting in five of the 14 seats in Assam and one of the two seats in Tripura.

The five parliamentary constituencies in Assam are Tezpur, Kaliabor, Jorhat, Dibrugarh and Lakhimpur and Tripura (West) in Tripura.

The polling is expected to start at 7 a.m. and is likely to end by 4 p.m.

A total 51 candidates are in the fray in the first phase, some of the prominent among them being Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi's son Gourav Gogoi, Union Minister Paban Singh Ghatowar, Union Minister Ranee Narah, state Bharatiya Janata Party president Sarbananda Sonowal and sitting Asom Gana Parishad MP Joseph Toppo.

In the Left Front-ruled Tripura, the election will witness a multi-cornered contest among CPI(M), Congress, Trinamool Congress and the BJP.

There are 13 candidates in the fray in West Tripura. Some of the prominent among them are CPI(M)'s Shankar Prasad Dutta, secretary of the state unit of CITU; Congress' Arunoday Saha, former vice-Chancellor of Tripura Central University; Sudhindra Dasgupta,BJP's state unit chief; and Chairman of the state unit of TMC and former minister Ratan Chakraborty.

The election to elect the 16th Lok Sabha from a total of 543 seats will be held in nine phases.

The last poll day is May 12 and the counting of votes will take on May 16, well ahead of expiry of the five-year term of the current Lok Sabha on May 31.

(Posted on 06-04-2014)

Share This Page:

Free Yearly Horoscope: Select your zodiac sign

Pisces | Aquarius | Capricorn | Sagittarius | Scorpio | Libra | Virgo | Leo | Cancer | Gemini | Taurus | Aries