Hyderabad, Apr 5 UNI | 4 months ago

The Lok Satta party will go it alone in the elections to the Lok Sabha and the Assembly since there has been no response from the BJP and the TDP to its initiative for an electoral alliance or seat adjustments so far, party president Srinivasa Rao said.

Addressing a press conference, Mr Rao said the party would contest 50-60 Assembly seats and 5-6 Lok Sabha seats in Telangana and 100 Assembly seats and 15-20 Lok Sabha seats in Andhra Pradesh.

He said the party which had already named candidates for 14 Assembly seats in Telangana would release its second list of candidates tomorrow.

Mr Rao explained that the Lok Satta Party had proposed agenda-based electoral tie-ups with the BJP and the TDP based on their performance in the 2009 general elections.

Although time was running out for filing nominations, there had been no response from those parties till now.

Although those parties are not paragons of virtue, the Loksatta has proposed electoral tie-ups keeping in mind people's future. Yet, they have maintained studied silence on joining hands with the Loksatta Party at least on some aspects of its agenda. They do not seem to be concerned about providing growth opportunities to all. Instead, they are planning to lure voters with inducements.

Against such a backdrop, the Lok Satta was being forced to contest on its own, Mr Rao added.

The Assembly seats are Uppal, Qutbullapur, Kukatpally,

Cantonment, Medchal, Secunderabad, Khairatabad, Amberpet, Malakpet, Maheswaram, Ibrahimpatnam, Karwan and Vikarabad. (The party has already named candidates for nine seats).

Kamareddy, Banswada, Jukkal, Balkonda, Nizamabad Urban. (Already named candidate for one seat).

Gazvel, Sangareddy and Patancheru (Already named candidate for one seat), Mahabubnagar, Shadnagar, Zadcherla, Wanaparthy and Kalwakurthy, Warangal East and West, Vardhannapet, Mahabubabad, Parakala and Palakurthy (Already named candidate for one seat).

Karimnagar, Ramagundam, Korutla, Sircilla, Vemulawada and Pedapalli, Adilabad, Bellampalli and Chennur, Kothagudem, Sattupalle, Aswaraopet, Madhira and Wyra (Already named candidate for one seat), Miryalguda, Kodada, Tungathurthi, Munugodu and Aleru.

For the Lok Sabha, the party will be fielding candidates in Secunderabad, Chevella, Warangal and Medak in addition to the already announced Malkajigiri.

The party will announce its candidates for the Assembly and the Lok Sabha seats in Andhra Pradesh on April 7.

(Posted on 05-04-2014)