Puducherry, Apr 5 UNI | 4 months ago

A record number of 41 candidates filed their nomination papers for the April 24 Lok Sabha election from Puducherry constituency when the filing of nominations came to a close today.

As many as 23 candidates filed their papers today, the last day for filing nominations while 18 had filed their papers till yesterday.

Union Minister of state for Prime Minister's Office V Narayansamy, who is seeking re-election from a Congress ticket, R Radhakrishnan of the ruling All india N R Congress in the BJP alliance, A M H Nazeem of the DMK, Anantharaman of the PMK are the prominent among those who filed their papers today and a majority of the rest were independents.

Scrutiny of the papers will be held on April 7 and April 9 is the last date for withdrawal of the papers.

(Posted on 05-04-2014)