Visakhapatnam, Apr 4 UNI | 4 months ago

The District Administration has made all arrangements for the smooth conduct of the first phase of local body elections for the Zilla Parishad Territorial Constituency(ZPTC) and Mandal Parishad Territorial Constitutency (MPTC) to be held on April 6.

Addressing the media here today, the district election officer and district Collector S Arokiya Raj said first phase local body elections will be held in 22 mandals in three revenue divisions of Visakhapatnam, Anakapalli and Narsipatnam on April 6. He said 88 candidates for 22 ZPTC posts and 912 candidates for MPTC contesting in the elections. He said 182 polling stations have been declared as sensitive and 140 stations as hyper sensitive in the three divisions of the district.

He said 2,397 ballot boxes will be provided and 6,473 polling personnel will be deployed for the elections. Arokiya Raj said 1,177 polling stations will be arranged for the elections and 9.65 lakh voters including women votes will exercise their franchise in the three division of in the first phase. He said dates for the counting of votes will be announced later. He said voters of urban local bodies (municipalities and Municipal Corporations are different from the votes in rural local bodies(gram panchayats Mandal Praja Parishads and zill praja parishads).

He said the voter should not cast his vote in both urban and rural local bodies.

If any voter who voted recently concluded municipal election should not exercise his franchise in ZPTC and MPTC elections. Violators will-be prosecuted as per provisions contained in Section 62 (3) and (4) of Representation ofthe People Act, 1951, he added.

(Posted on 05-04-2014)