Mirpur, Apr 4 IBNS | 7 months ago

South Africa posted 172 for four in their 20 overs in the second semi-finals of the World T20 here on Friday.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar gave India an early success by picking up the wicket of Quinton de Kock (4) in the first over the of the innings after South Africa decided to bat first after winning the toss.

Hashim Amla (22) and skipper Faf du Plessis (58) added 35 runs in the secnd wicket partnership to recover South Africa from the initial jolt.

At a time, when the duo were racing ahead by playing some good shots, R Ashwin picked up Amla in the seventh over as the scorecard showed 44 for two.

Faf du Plessis continued to destroy the Indian bowling and smashed five boundaries and two sixes in his 41-ball knock.

Faf du Plessis and JP Duminy (45*) joined in another partnership of 71 runs in the third wicket partnership to keep the momentum going for South Africa.

Duminy played Indian spinners quite easily.

Ashwin struck twice and picked up the wickets of the skipper and AB de Villiers (10), giving hopes of keeping the target below 150-run mark.

Duminy and David Miller's crucial fourth wicket partnership of 43 helped South Africa post 172 on the scorecard.

MS Dhoni gave Mohit Sharma the 20th over where he proved to be quite expensive and gave away 14 runs.

Dhoni used six bowlers on Friday including Suresh Raina who gave away 35 runs in his four overs.

R Ashwin was successful and picked up three wickets by giving away 22 runs in four overs.

Amit Mishra, who was successful in the tournament so far, gave away 36 runs in three overs and was unable to pick up any wicket.

Kumar and Sharma also gave more then 30 runs in their spells.

(Posted on 04-04-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |