Hyderabad, April 4 IANS | 7 months ago

The Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) Friday released its first list of candidates for assembly election in Telangana.

TRS chief K. Chandrasekhara Rao is among 69 candidates announced by him at a news conference. KCR, as Rao is popularly known, will contest from Gajwel in Medak district.

This is the first time that KCR will be contesting for assembly since he floated TRS 14 years ago to revive the movement for separate Telangana state. He was elected to Lok Sabha in 2004 and 2009 elections.

KCR's son K. Tarakarama Rao will seek re-election from Sircilla while his nephew Harish Rao has been fielded again from Siddipet.

The TRS has retained all 17 sitting legislators and also gave tickets to those who crossed over from the Congress, the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and other parties.

KCR claimed that 55 percent of the candidates are from weaker sections of the candidate.

"We have given priority to those who participated in the Telangana movement. We have tried to accommodate lawyers, doctors and student leaders who participated in the movement. Some more names are under consideration," he said.

Shakeel Ahmed is the only Muslim candidate in the TRS list. He will contest from Bodhan in Nizamabad district.

KCR said the candidates for remaining 50 assembly seats and 17 Lok Sabha seats would be announced soon.

He also reiterated that TRS would go alone in the polls and that there is no question of alliance with any party.

Simultaneous elections to 119 assembly seats and 17 Lok Sabha seats in Telangana are scheduled on April 30.

Telangana will come into being as a separate state June 2.

(Posted on 04-04-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |