Tuesday, February 09 2016

Home > News > Cricket News

World T20: West Indies beat Pakistan to reach semis

Posted on Apr 02 2014 | IBNS

Mirpur, Apr 1 : Darren Sammy's men put up a spirited performance as West Indies thrashed Pakistan by 84 runs to book a seat in the semi-finals of the World T20 here on Tuesday.

In a crucial match for both the sides which decided the fate of of the team's progression to the semi-finals, West Indies bowled out Pakistan fort 82 runs in 17.5 overs after posting 166 for six earlier.

West Indies spinners-Samuel Badree and Sunil Narine, took three wickets each to destroy the Pakistani lineup.

Pacers Krishmar Santokie and Andre Russell also picked two apiece to ensure the side reach the semi-finals where they will meet Sri Lanka.

Pakistan completely surrendered before the West Indies bowlers as skipper Mohammad Hafeez top scoring with his 19.

Pakistan lost the wicket of in-form batsman Ahmed Shehzad (0) in the very first ball of the innings to give the side a jolt.

Kamran Akmal (0), Umar Akmal (1), Shoaib Malik (2) departed soon to leave the side struggling at 13 for four within six overs.

Sohaib Maqsood (18), Shahid Afridi (18) and Sohail Tanvir (14) were the other batsmen to reach double figure.

West Indies on the other hand posted 166 for six on the scoreboard after Dwayne Bravo (46) and Darren Sammy (42*) played some electrifying shots late in the innings.

West Indies openers Dwayne Smith (8) and Chris Gayle (5) returned to the pavilion fast but Lendl Simmons (31) and Marlon Samuels (20) added 39 runs in the third wicket partnership to stabilise the innings.

Sammy and Bravo later joined into a sixth-wicket 71 stand to post a competitive total on the scorecard.

Bravo smashed two boundaries and four sixes while Sammy, who had played a memorable knock against Australia to clinch victory in their last match against Australia, hit five boundaries and two over boundaries on Tuesday night.

Mohammad Hafeez, Sohail Tanvir, Zulfiqar Babar and Shahid Afridi took one for Pakistan.

Latest News: