Kolkata, Apr 1 UNI | 4 months ago

Bengal and Odissa began their east zone's campaign for Syed Mustaq Ali T20 cricket with flying colours defeating Assam and Tripura by 44 runs and six wickets respectively here today.

Batting first, Bengal scored 161 for loss of 4 wickets with 53 not out from captain Laxmi Ratan Shukla and unbeaten 28 from Arnab Nandy and then bowled Assam 117 all out collecting four points at Eden Gardens.

In the second match at Jadavpur University Ground Tripura sent to bat first were all out in 19.5 overs in 116 runs.

Odissa, last year topper from east zone, were made light work collecting 119 runs in four wickets in 19 overs to win by six wickets after opener Paresh Patel hit 43 runs in 37 balls with four boundaries and two sixes.

He was supported by Natraj Behera (23), debutant wicket-keeper Sujit Lenka (15) and Govinda Poddar 17. Odissa also got 4 points.

Semifinalists of Ranji trophy and Vijay Hazare, Bengal eyeing for a cup for season's last tournament fielded three new caps for T20 with batsmen Sudip Chatterjee and B Vivek Singh and off spinner and former under-19 India Aamir Gani. While Vivek Singh and Gani made their present felt, Sudip Chatterjee was unlucky at 13.

B Vivek Singh opening batting for Bengal hit 15-ball 28 with three 4s and two sixes and Gani emerged the highest wicket taker with 3/18. Other wicket takers to be mentioned were Sourashih Lahiri 2/22 and Asoke Dinda 2/29.

Captain Laxmi Ratan Shukla hit 53 off 42 balls with seven boundaries and Manoj Tiwary 32 off 31 balls.

(Posted on 01-04-2014)