Miami, March 31 IANS | 7 months ago

Serbian Novak Djokovic o Sunday won his fourth Masters 1,000 in Key Biscayne, defeating Spain's Rafael Nadal with a double 6-3 result in the final of the Sony Open.

Djokovic aggressively put away the Spaniard - who is now 0-4 in his attempts to win at Key Biscayne - in just an hour and 23 minutes, waging a consistent and unrelenting attack on the world's No. 1 player.

Nadal said that his serve was going to be key and that he would have to play above his normal level to be able to beat Djokovic, ranked No. 2, but he was unable to muster the required go-power to emerge victorious.

Despite the result, Nadal will remain ranked No. 1 and Djokovic No. 2.

Nadal began the hard-court match with great intensity - even though he prefers to play on clay - but the Serb was able to do him damage on practically every one of the volleys, sending his countershots deep, wide just inside the lines or rushing the net when the Spaniard gave him the chance.

In the sixth set, Djokovic easily broke his rival's service, even though the Spaniard enjoyed the support of the mainly Latino local crowd.

This was the pair's 40th encounter, with Nadal emerging triumphant on 22 of the matchups, although Djokovic had won 13 of their 20 past confrontations on fast courts like Miami.

After winning the first set 6-3, Djokovic went on to break Nadal's service again in the second set.

Djokovic had won in Miami on three previous occasions - 2007, 2011 and 2012 - and has exceeded Pete Sampras in the number of titles at Key Biscayne, and throughout his contest with Nadal appeared to have the Spaniard corralled and unable to mount an effective counterattack.

Given Sunday's result, Spanish men fell to 0-7 in Key Biscayne finals.

The Sony Open is one of the biggest hard-court events on the ATP and WTA calendars.

(Posted on 31-03-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |