Saturday, February 06 2016

Home > News > More News

Bihar declares all polling stations no-smoking zones

Posted on Mar 30 2014 | IANS

Patna, March 30 : All polling stations for the Lok Sabha election in Bihar have been declared no-smoking zones, an official said Sunday.

Additional Chief Electoral Officer R. Lakshmanan said the decision has been taken under Section 4 of the Cigarettes and Other Tobacco Products Act. He said it will create more awareness about not smoking.

"A directive in this regard has been issued to all district electoral officers. Those found violating the order would be fined Rs.200," he said.

Bihar has a total of 59,807 polling stations in 40 parliamentary constituencies.

Latest News: