Sunday, February 14 2016

Home > News > Tamil Nadu News

Three anti-Kudankulam activists file nominations in Tamil Nadu

Posted on Mar 30 2014 | IANS

Chennai, March 29 : A total of 63 Lok Sabha candidates including three anti-Kudankulam project activists from the AAP, a Congressman, four CPI-M members and several independent candidates Saturday filed their nominations in Tamil Nadu on the first day, said an official.

The three activists - S.P.Udayakumar (Kanyakumari), M.Jesuraj (Tirunelveli) and M.Pushparayan (Tuticorin)- filed their nominations Saturday as the candidates for Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).

Curiously the AAP has not made its policy clear on the nuclear power plants. The Nuclear Power Corporation of India Ltd (NPCIL) is setting up two 1,000 MW atomic power plants in Kudankulam in Tirunelveli district around 650 km from here.

Congress leader Manishankar Aiyar filed his nomination for Mayiladuthurai constituency, while Communist Party of India-Marxist candidates D.Vikraman and P.R.Natarajan filed their nominations in Madurai and Coimbatore respectively.

Saturday was the first day for filing the poll papers.

Latest News: