New Delhi, Mar 24, ANI | 7 months ago

Supreme Court on Monday said that defence personnel posted at peace stations, who are not registered as voters, could now exercise their franchise and enrol themselves, ahead of general elections starting next month.

The top court directed the election commission to register the defence personnel as voters from their area of posting.

However, petitioner, Neena Gokhale, said the direction was only for personnel stationed at peace stations and modalities for border areas are yet to be worked out.

"At the moment it will only apply to the peace stations, which has been clarified by the court because all the modalities for border areas have to be worked out, which is fair enough. And then the court has directed the matter to be finally heard, after the proceedings are completed by a three judge bench," said Gokhale.

A bench headed by Justice R.M. Lodha, taking on record a statement by the election commission, said a statutory bar that security personnel should be resident of peace areas for three years along with his family would not be applicable for the upcoming parliamentary elections.

The personnel should be posted at the peace station from January 1st , 2014 and continue to be so to qualify as a voter. However, this will not impact the voters list in 225 constituencies where the election process has already started.

(Posted on 25-03-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |