Ranchi, March 24 IANS | 7 months ago

Five former Indian Police Service (IPS) officers, including a sitting Lok Sabha MP, are in the poll fray in Jharkhand.

They are sitting Jamshedpur MP Ajay Kumar, Amitabh Chaudhary, B.D. Ram, Subodh Prasad and Rameshwar Oraon.

Ajay Kumar was elected in a 2011 by-poll. He quit the IPS and later joined the Jharkhand Vikas Morcha-Prajatantrik (JVM-P) floated by Jharkhand's first chief minister Babulal Marandi.

Rameshwar Oraon too quit the elite police service and joined the Congress in 2004. He fought on a Congress ticket from Lohardagga and won. He was also a minister in the union government. He lost in 2009 and is now the Congress candidate from Lohardagga.

Former director general of police B.D. Ram, after superannuation, joined the Bharatiya Janata Party and is the candidate from Palamau.

Amitabh Chaudhary, who opted voluntary retirement from the IPS last year is contesting from Ranchi on a JVM-P ticket. Chaudhary, the president of the Jharkhand State Cricket Association (JSCA), is pitted against incumbent MP and former central minister Subodh Kant Sahay.

Subodh Prasad, who retired as a deputy inspector general of police, has been fielded by the All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU) from Godda.

All of them say that joined politics to serve the people and develop their respective Lok Sabha constituencies.

(Posted on 24-03-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |