Patna, March 23 IANS | 7 months ago

Bihar Police have sought 20 satellite phones from the union home ministry for use in Maoist-affected Lok Sabha constituencies to ensure peaceful polling, a police official said Sunday.

"We have sought 20 satellite phones from the union home ministry, for using them in Maoist-affected districts in view of the Lok Sabha polls. A letter has been sent to the ministry in this connection," the official said.

"If we are provided with satellite phones, these will be given to police officials of the rank of superintendent of police and others to be used in emergency," he added.

According to police officials, till date Bihar Police have no satellite phone.

"So far Bihar Police had to be dependent on satellite phones of other states and the union home ministry during polls," another police official said.

However, the Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) deployed in different places across the state have the facility to use the satellite phones at 26 locations.

"At present CRPF's battalions deployed in Bihar have 20 satellite phones," a CRPF official said.

The six Lok Sabha constituencies going to polls April 10 in Bihar are Maoists affected places. They are Aurangabad, Jehanabad, Karakat, Jamui, Gaya and Sasaram.

Prominent candidates are to contest from these constituencies. Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar is contesting from Sasaram as a sitting Congress MP, former Delhi Police chief and former Kerala governor Nikhil Kumar will contest from Aurangabad as a Congress candidate, and Bihar assembly Speaker Uday Narain Choudhary from Jamui on the Janata Dal (United) ticket.

(Posted on 23-03-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |