New Delhi, March 19 IANS | 7 months ago

The Delhi High Court Wednesday directed the centre to file a status report on a plea seeking withdrawal of Rs.5 denomination coins with the image of deity Mata Vaishno Devi embossed on the reverse.

A division bench of Acting Chief Justice B.D. Ahmed and Justice Sidharth Mridul asked the ministry of finance to file a report within three weeks on the question of the government issuing coins with religious symbol embossed on them.

The PIL was filed by Nafis Qazi against the finance ministry and RBI and the court was told that secular democratic credentials of governance are damaged when the government issues currency with religious symbols.

It said the government, by bringing out coins at regular intervals with religious symbols such as figures of a deity or temple embossed on them, was indulging in anti-secular actions.

"These symbols undermine the secular character, a basic feature of the constitution," said the advocate appearing for petitioner.

During the hearing, the bench questioned the government on issuing such coins, saying: "How can you do this? How can a state have a religious symbol? State should be completely blind to religion."

Additional Solicitor General (ASG) Rajeeve Mehra, along with advocate Neeraj Chaudhary, appearing for the central government told the bench that the coins were issued under the Coinage Act to commemorate the occasion of silver jubilee of Shri Mata Vaishno Devi Shrine Board.

Mehra said several other coins were issued under the Coinage Act and he will look into the matter and file the report.

The court, however, said there is no need to issue coins to commemorate any occasions. "You need not put symbol like 100 years of something, 50 years of something," said the court while posting the matter for April 23.

The plea said the government in 2010 and 2013 came out with coins with religious symbols embossed on them, which should be withdrawn.

(Posted on 19-03-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |