Chikkaballapur (Karnataka), March 16 IANS | 7 months ago

AAP leader Arvind Kejriwal Sunday urged the electorate here to defeat Union Petroleum and Natural Gas Minister M. Veerappa Moily of the Congress in the Lok Sabha election.

"Corrupt ministers like Moily should not be elected again as he had colluded (with a corporate house) to increase gas prices that will further fuel price rise," Kejriwal said in Chikkaballapur, 70 km from Bangalore.

The Congress has re-nominated Moily, a former Karnataka chief minister (1992-94), to contest from this rural constituency where he won in 2009 though he hails from the coastal Dakshina Kannada district, about 350 km away.

A day after hectic campaign across Bangalore Saturday, Kejriwal drove on a hot afternoon to Chikkaballapur in a convoy to seek votes for AAP candidate K. Arkesh, a retired police officer, contesting against Moily.

He introduced Arkesh to a motley crowd at a traffic junction.

"It is harmful for the country if leaders like Moily are allowed to loot the nation's wealth," Kejriwal said.

As part of its anti-corruption drive, the Aam Aadmi Party has decided to contest against 'corrupt' politicians like Ananth Kumar and B.S. Yeddyurappa of the BJP in Bangalore South and Shimoga parliamentary seats in the state.

The AAP has fielded social worker Nina Nayak against Ananth Kumar and social activist G. Sridhar Kallahalla against Yeddyurappa in the Lok Sabha polls to be held April 17 in Karnataka, which has 28 parliamentary seats.

As Kejriwal is unwell and looked tired after campaigning in Gujarat and Maharasthra, his road shows in other assembly segments of this Lok Sabha constituency were cancelled.

He returns to Bangalore to address a public rally in the evening.

(Posted on 16-03-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |