New Delhi/Kolkata, March 16 IANS | 7 months ago

India Sunday put on hold its search operation for the missing Malaysia Airlines flight at the request of Kuala Lumpur which is reassessing its hunt for the aircraft.

"India has paused the search operation temporarily at the request of the Malaysian government. A high-level coordination meeting is on in Malaysia. We are waiting for it to end," a defence ministry official told IANS.

"We want them to tell if they want to change the search area or widen it... Our ships are there in the Andaman sea and we await directions," the official added.

In Port Blair, Colonel Harmit Singh, spokesman for the Andaman and Nicobar Command, told IANS: "The Coast Guard will revert to routine surveillance till further orders."

The Indian Navy conducted the search over a wide area in the Andaman Sea and the Bay of Bengal.

India pressed six ships - three each from the navy and the Coast Guard - for the search operation. A total of 45 ships and 60 aircraft from over a dozen countries are involved in the search.

The Malaysian plane with 239 passengers and crew vanished without trace after taking off from Kuala Lumpur March 8.

(Posted on 16-03-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |