Sunday, February 07 2016

Home > News > West Bengal News

Fortis Hospital marks World Kidney Day

Posted on Mar 14 2014 | IBNS

Kolkata, March 14 : Fortis Hospital, Kolkata on Thursday marked the World Kidney Day as it hosted the grand finale of the inter school quiz competition Quizzical (Nurturing Healthy Minds) here at the Rotary Sadan. Around 100 schools from Durgapur, West Midnapore, Silliguri, Howrah and Kolkata participated in this competition out of which eight school teams named alphabetically from A to H, comprising two finalists each, battled for the top position.

The quiz-masters who kept the pulse of the competition soaring, comprised of renowned quizzer Abhijit Sukul and famous actor-cum-singer of Bengali cinema, Saheb Chatterjee.

The dignitaries present at the occasion were, Dr. Shibaji Basu (Chief Urologist, Fortis Kolkata), Dr. Arup Ratan Dutta (Chief Nephrologist Fortis Kolkata), Dr. Rajiv Singhal (Regional Director, East and West) and Richa Deb Gupta (Facility Director, Fortis Hospitals, Anandapur).

Dr. Dutta thanked the kidney donors, the unsung heroes after every successful kidney transplantation while film personality Saheb Chatterjee showed gratitude to the awareness campaign that percolates crucial health related information to the society as well as sensibly grooms kids to get over their phobias.

The competition comprised four general awareness rounds where each question carried ten marks and a bonus of five marks in case of a passing question along with no negative marking.

After the completion of each round, the medical practitioners asked two non transferable questions based on kidney specific knowledge, carrying 15 marks each, to two teams respectively, after which, each dignitary shared their respective insights on kidney disease awareness as the need of the hour.

This was followed by two audio and two visual rounds respectively.

Agrasein Balika Siksha Sadan, Howrah with 70 points and Birla High School with 75 points were the second and first runners up, respectively.

St. Xavier's Collegiate School scoring 100 points was declared winner and the winning candidates, Ritabrata Chowdhury and Nilarghya Dutta, were awarded a prize money of twenty-five thousand rupees.

Latest News: