New Delhi, Mar 14 ANI | 2 years ago

The timing for the Change of Guard ceremony that takes place every Saturday at Rashtrapati Bhavan will change from tomorrow onwards.

"The timing for the "Ceremonial Changing of Guard" at Rashtrapati Bhavan from March 15, 2014, to August 14, 2014 will be 8 a.m. and 8.40 a.m. This spectacle is held every Saturday at the forecourt of Rashtrapati Bhavan and is open to the public," a statement here said.

The old and new guard consists of a troop from the President's Body Guard (PBG) and another platoon from one of the numerous regiments of the Indian Army. A military band also would be present as an accompaniment.

When the New Guard is formed up between the Dominion columns of North Block, sentries are nominated and their officers inspect the respective guards, as the band plays 'Sammaan Guard' (The Honour Guard).

Men of the President's Bodyguard consist of the old warrior classes of the Rajputs, Sikhs and the Jats. Recruitment standards are strict and the minimum height is six feet.

After the inspection is over, a formal march commences with the band playing "Sher-E-Jawan" (Tiger of a soldier), into the Forecourt of the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

The New Guard forms up along with the Old Guard and awaits the formal salutation of "Salami Shastra" (Present Arms) by the latter to the former to formally salute it and signify readiness for change over.

Accompanied by the tune "Robinson" handing over of key takes place the Junior Commissioned Officer of the Old and New Guard patrol, symbolizing responsibility of commanders during changeover.

Sentries of the Old Guard rejoin and the Junior Commissioned Officers return to their posts. The Old Guard marches off to the tune "Saare Jahan Se Achcha" (Better than any nation).

The New Guard that assumes charge pays compliments and the balance of the New Guard marches off along with band playing "Amar Jawan" (Immortal Soldier).

(Posted on 14-03-2014)

Share This Page:

Free Yearly Horoscope: Select your zodiac sign

Pisces | Aquarius | Capricorn | Sagittarius | Scorpio | Libra | Virgo | Leo | Cancer | Gemini | Taurus | Aries