Sunday, February 07 2016

Home > News > More News

Gangpur claims national hockey (Division B) title

Posted on Mar 13 2014 | IANS

Lucknow, March 13 : In a nail-biting final, Gangpur-Odisha edged past Maharashtra 3-2 to clinch the National Hockey Championship (Division B) at the Major Dhyan Chand Hockey Stadium here Thursday.

Both Gangpur and Maharashtra went all out from the start, leading to a 2-2 score at the end of first half.

Both teams went on defensive in the second half, restricting each other from scoring till Gangpur's Ashish Anmol Minz managed to sneak in and strike the winning goal in the 52nd minute to steal the title from Maharashtra.

Earlier, Mumbai came from behind to defeat Namdhari XI 3-1 to finish third. The first goal came via Bhagat Singh Dhillon (22nd minute) and Namdhari XI went into the break with a 1-0 lead.

However, Mumbai made a comeback through captain Victo Singh's two field goals in the 40th and 49th minutes to take a 2-1 lead. Tyron Pereira flicked in the final blow to help beat Namdhari XI.

Final: Gangpur-Odisha 3 (William Xalxo, Bikash Toppo, Ashish Anmol Minz) beat Maharashtra 2 (Vishal Pillay, Vinit Kamble)

3rd/4th playoff: Mumbai 3 (Victo Singh 2, Tyron Pereira) beat Namdhari XI 1 (Bhagat Singh Dhillon).

Latest News: