New Delhi, Jan.18 ANI | 2 years ago

With the implementation of the National Food Security Act in Karnataka and Chhattisgarh also, the Act has taken off now in seven states and union territories -- Haryana, Rajasthan, Himachal Pradesh, Delhi, Punjab, Karnataka and Chhattisgarh.

The Government of India has made foodgrain allocations to these states and union territories as per requirements projected by them for the implementation of the Act. Uttrakhand and Chandigarh are also expected to join this group soon.

Beneficiaries will now get foodgrains at highly subsidized prices of Rs. 3/2/1 per kg for rice, wheat and coarse grains. Each beneficiary will get five Kg. foodgrain per month. However, existing entitlement of Antyodaya Anna Yojana (AAY) households' which is 35 kg. of per household per month will be protected, since AAY constitute poorest of the poor.

The Center has also decided to protect existing allocation of each state in case the allocation under the proposed legislation is lower than its current allocation. It will be protected upto the level of average offtake during last three years, at prices to be determined by the Central Government.

(Posted on 18-01-2014)

Share This Page:

Free Yearly Horoscope: Select your zodiac sign

Pisces | Aquarius | Capricorn | Sagittarius | Scorpio | Libra | Virgo | Leo | Cancer | Gemini | Taurus | Aries