Malappuram (Kerala), March 10 IANS | 8 months ago

Minister of State for External Affairs E.Ahamed and his Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) colleague E.T.Mohammed Basheer were Monday renominated to contest the upcoming Lok Sabha polls from their respective seats in Kerala.

IUML is the second-biggest constituent of the ruling Congress-led United Democratic Front and the party has been given two seats, of the state's 20, to contest. Barring 2004 - when they lost one - they have always won both the seats.

Ahamed, 75, is an old warhorse of the IUML. A state legislator from 1967 to 1991, he has contested and won every Lok Sabha election since then.

Even though there were rumblings in his party on renominating him, the party leadership prevailed upon his detractors and gave him the nod to contest again from Malappuram, the citadel of the IUML.

Basheer, 67, a former state minister and a legislator for many years, is also a popular face in the party and known for his mild manners and soft-spoken approach. His renomination did not have any problems and was asked to contest again from Ponnani in Malappuram district.

In a related development, the Socialist Janata (Democratic) party led by media baron M.P.Veerendra Kumar announced in Thiruvananthapuram that his party, also part of the UDF, has been alloted the Palakkad seat and they have decided to accept it even thought they preferred either Vadakkara or Wayanand.

(Posted on 10-03-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |