Chennai, March 10 IANS | 8 months ago

Two of the eight DMK parliamentarians who have been renominated to fight the general elections did not open their mouths during the 15th Lok Sabha, according to PRS Legislative Research data.

The two are former union ministers A. Raja and S. Jagathrakshakan. While the former resigned as telecom minister in November 2010, the latter quit March 2013.

According to PRS Legislative Research the data relating to Raja and Jagathrakshakan pertains to the period after they resigned.

On the other hand, Dayanidhi Maran, a close relative of DMK president M. Karunanidhi, participated in only one debate but did not ask any question during his tenure as a Lok Sabha member.

Maran, a former union minister, put in his papers July 2011.

Similarly, S. Gandhiselvan who was a minister till March 2013 took part in only two debates and has not raised any questions since then.

The top performer amongst the renominated DMK MPs is R. Thamaraiselvan who put up 740 questions, participated in 112 debates and also piloted three private member bills.

He is followed by A.K.S. Vijayan who asked 440 questions and participated in 31 debates.

However, E.G. Sugavanam, whose name is not in the DMK's candidate list this time, is the top performer amongst all the 18 DMK MPs in the 15th Lok Sabha.

He raised 907 questions and participated in 25 debates.

(Posted on 10-03-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |