New Delhi, Jan 18 IANS | 10 months ago

President Pranab Mukherjee Saturday called for collective thinking by political parties to ensure smooth running of parliament, and amending existing rules to curb disruptions, if necessary.

Disruption of parliamentary proceedings cannot be tolerated under any circumstances, Mukherjee said while delivering the 10th Nehru Memorial Lecture on "Nehru and Parliamentary Democracy" at the Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU) here.

"There should be collective thinking by political parties and leaders of our country on how to ensure smooth running of our parliament and legislative assemblies and whether some of the existing rules need to be amended for the purpose," he said.

"Dissent should be expressed with decency and within the contours and parameters of parliamentary devices," he added.

The president said 9.95 percent of the total time in the 10th Lok Sabha was lost due to interruptions and the figure rose dramatically, reaching 37.77 percent in the 15th Lok Sabha.

He said the first Lok Sabha (1952-57) passed 319 bills compared to 247 passed in the 14th Lok Sabha (2004-2009).

"Parliamentarians must see legislation as their first and foremost responsibility. There is need for utmost caution in matters of legislation, money and finance."

Mukherjee called on the faculty and students of JNU to play a major role in bringing back into debate Nehru's ideals as well as practice with regard to parliamentary democracy.

(Posted on 18-01-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |