Hyderabad, March 7 IANS | 8 months ago

Hyderabad mayor Mohammed Majid Hussain resigned Friday and is likely to contest the ensuing assembly elections.

Majid quit on the direction of Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM), which is likely to field him in one of the assembly constituencies in the city. He submitted his resignation to the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC) Commissioner Somesh Kumar.

As the Congress and the MIM are sharing power in GHMC, MIM chief and Hyderabad MP Asaduddin Owaisi Thursday called on state Congress chief Botsa Satyanarayana to convey his decision to pull out Majid.

Though under an agreement between the two parties the two-year term of Majid came to an end on Jan 3 this year, he continued in the post as Congress did not claim it for various reasons.

Majid had taken over as mayor in 2012 after Congress' Banda Karthika Reddy completed her two-year term.

Under the agreement reached between the two parties after 2009 elections to GHMC, the mayor post was to a Congress candidate for the first two years and to MIM for the next two years. The parties had agreed to take a decision for the last year with mutual consent.

MIM snapped ties with Congress in late 2012 by accusing then chief minister Kiran Kumar Reddy of being "communal". However, its mayor continued in the post.

At 31, Majid was the youngest mayor in the country. It was after a gap of 21 years that a MIM leader had become Hyderabad mayor.

(Posted on 07-03-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |