Wednesday, February 10 2016

Home > News > India News

Goa gears up for Lusofonia Games

Posted on Jan 18 2014 | IBNS

By John Edwards, Panaji, Jan 18 : The much awaited Lusofonia Games 2014 will kick off at Fatorda stadium in South Goa Saturday evening as the event, spread across 12 days, will feature 12 countries namely Angola, Brazil, Cape Verde, East Timor, Equatorial Guinea, Guinea- Bissau, Goa (India), Macau (China), Mozambique, Portugal, Sao Tome and Principe and Sri Lanka.

Athletes from these countries will compete in nine different sporting disciplines - Athletics, Basketball, Beach Volleyball, Football, Judo, Table Tennis, Taekwondo, Volleyball and Wushu. Over 800 athletes and officials are expected to participate in the Games.

The Games and the action will be thrown open to the people of Goa and the Lusofone world at a glittering ceremony at the Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru stadium at Fatorda on Saturday, January 18th where over 2000 artistes will perform acrobatics and dances amidst a spectacular light show and other eye-catching events.

Considered as the biggest sporting event in the state's history, it will be held across six key venues including the two newly renovated at Fatorda - the venue for the opening and closing ceremonies and Tilak Maidan stadium in Vasco.

Three other state-of-the art venues include the Multi-Purpose Indoor Stadium at Peddem, which will host Judo, Wushu, Table Tennis and Taekwondo disciplines. A new stadium dedicated to athletics at Bambolim will host all track-and-field events, while another new facility called the Dr Shyam Prasad Mukherjee stadium located on the Goa University Campus in Taleigao, will host Basketball and Volleyball matches.

The organisers say that a modern temporary facility erected at the beautiful Miramar beach will be the venue for the Beach Volleyball matches that are expected to add sizzle and attract a lot of attention during the Lusofonia Games 2014.

The Lusofonia Games 2014 is the third edition of the Portuguese Commonwealth Games. The first two were held in Macau (China) 2006 and in Lisbon in 2009.

Latest News: