Monday, February 08 2016

Home > News > India News

2014 Lok Sabha elections start Apr 7

Posted on Mar 05 2014 | IBNS

New Delhi, Mar 5 : The Election Commission (EC) on Wednesday announced that the Lok Sabha elections will start on Apr 7 and will be held in nine phrases.

Voting will be held on Apr 7, Apr 9, Apr 10, Apr 12, Apr 17, Apr 24, Apr 30, May 7 and May 12 across a total of 543 parliamentary constituencies.

"Counting will take place on 16.05.2014 (Friday) and is expected to be
completed on the same day," said a press note issued by Deputy Election Commissioner R. Balakrishnan.

The Commission said 814 million people are eligible to cast their votes this year.

The EC said state assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim and Odisha will be held simultaneously.

"The Commission has taken into account the fact that the tenure of the Legislative Assemblies of the States of Andhra Pradesh, Odisha and Sikkim will expire on 02.06.2014, 07.06.2014 and 21.05.2014 respectively. It is also conscious of the fact that a new Assembly in Sikkim has to be constituted before 22nd May, 2014," it said.

The EC further said: "After taking into account all relevant factors, the Commission has decided to hold elections for new Legislative Assemblies for these three States, simultaneously with the General Elections to the 16th Lok Sabha."

"Elections to the different Assembly Constituencies in the States of Andhra Pradesh and Odisha will follow the same Schedule as for the corresponding Parliamentary Constituencies of which these are the relevant Assembly segments.

"For elections to the Legislative Assembly of Sikkim, the same Schedule as for the corresponding Parliamentary Constituency will be followed for all stages up to the date of counting," said the EC.

The Commission said it has decided to forward its recommendations to the Governors of these three States, for issuing Notifications (under Section 15 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951), calling upon the respective Legislative Assembly Constituencies to elect members to the concerned Legislative Assemblies.

Latest News: