Thiruvananthapuram, March 1 IANS | 8 months ago

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) in Kerala has roped in novelist Sara Joseph and former IPS officer Ajith Joy to contest the upcoming Lok Sabha polls.

Joseph will contest the Thrissur seat while Joy has been named for the capital city constituency that is currently held by junior HRD Minister Shashi Tharoor.

Speaking to IANS, AAP's state convenor Manoj Padmanabhan, an IT professional based in Kochi said the state unit had submitted a list of candidates to the national leadership and these two names were cleared.

"At the moment, I cannot say if we will contest all the 20 seats in the state," said Padmanabhan.

Joseph, 67, is an award-winning novelist and a retired professor of Malayalam. She has been taking up women's issues.

She won the Kendra Sahitya Akademi Award of 2003 for her novel "Aalahayude Penmakkal" (Daughters of God the Father) and also received the prestigious Vayalar Ramavarma Award of 2004 for the same novel.

Joy, 44, who hails from the state capital is a 1992 batch IPS officer who quit the service last year and is a practising lawyer in the Supreme Court.

Padmanabhan added the response to the AAP party is good and he expects the total membership will soon reach six lakh in Kerala.

(Posted on 01-03-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |