Patna, Feb 28 IANS | 8 months ago

Hundreds of passengers were Friday stranded at many railway stations across Bihar as BJP workers forcibly stopped trains over the denial of special category status to the state by the union government, officials said.

More than 300 Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) workers, including state party president Mangal Pandey, Leader of Opposition in the assembly Nand Kishore Yadav and former deputy chief minister Sushil Kumar Modi, were detained by police for disrupting train services. All of them were later released, police said.

BJP workers also blocked the national highway 80 in Lakhisarai that led to hundreds of vehicles forced to stop for hours.

In some places, passengers particularly students going for their examinations clashed with BJP workers for blocking the roads.

Over three dozen trains, including Rajdhani Express, were forcibly halted by BJP workers. Hundreds of passengers were stranded at many railway stations, said Additional Director General of Police Ravinder Kumar.

"Protestors blocked railway tracks in Patna, Gaya, Sheikhpura, Lakhisarai, Darbhanga, Hajipur and Bhagalpur, Madhepura, Muzaffarpur, Nalanda and Jehanabad," a railway official said.

"BJP workers have been forcibly stopping trains at railway stations since morning."

Party leaders had Thursday appealed to people to avoid travelling by trains Friday, and Sushil Kumar Modi had requested passengers to cancel their train tickets.

The party had given the call for a rail blockade after Chief Minister Nitish Kumar called a shutdown in the state March 2 to protest the denial of special category status.

Sushil Kumar Modi said the special status was a must for development of a backward state like Bihar, and that the Congress-led union government has discriminated against his state.

"BJP's prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi has promised to grant special status to Bihar. Now our hope lies with him," he said.

(Posted on 28-02-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |