New Delhi, Jan. 17 ANI | 2 years ago

Congress leader Harish Rawat on Friday said that the Congress will win the elections, and then make party Vice President Rahul Gandhi the Prime Minister.

"We will win the Lok Sabha elections and then we will make Rahul Gandhi our prime minister," said Rawat.

"We will abide by the decision of All India Congress working committee and we are with the decision of Congress President Sonia Gandhi," he said.

Sonia Gandhi at the All India Congress Committee meet had said that the decision taken yesterday by the party that Vice President Rahul Gandhi will be the poll panel head is final, and that the Congress was ready for the battle.

"The decision that was taken yesterday that the Congress campaign for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections will be led by Rahul Gandhi is final," said Gandhi.

"We are ready for the battle," she said.

"This election is for an India, which our founding fathers visualized. 2014 battle will be a battle for India, a battle for preserving secular traditions, and removing disparities," she added.

This meeting has been organized to strategize the party's move ahead of the 2014 Lok Sabha election, and will also be deciding the role of Rahul Gandhi.

Senior Congress leader Janardhan Dwivedi on Thursday had said that there was a discussion on Rahul Gandhi as many felt he should be named the party's prime ministerial candidate, however president Sonia Gandhi intervened in between, saying that 'it is not the tradition of the Congress that just because some party has declared their candidate, doesn't mean we should too'.

However there was consensus at the AICC meeting that the Congress campaign for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections will be led by Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi.

"This meeting of the All India Congress Committee (AICC) declares that 2014 General Elections campaign will be led by Rahul Gandhi," Dwivedi told media after the Congress Party meeting.

Dwivedi also quoted Rahul as saying, "I am loyal party worker. I will carry out whatever responsibility is given to me."

(Posted on 17-01-2014)

Share This Page:

Free Yearly Horoscope: Select your zodiac sign

Pisces | Aquarius | Capricorn | Sagittarius | Scorpio | Libra | Virgo | Leo | Cancer | Gemini | Taurus | Aries