Thursday, February 11 2016

Home > News > India News

Lalu launches protest march, 9 MLAs return

Posted on Feb 26 2014 | IBNS

Patna, Feb 25 : A day after 13 of Lalu Prasad Yadav's MLAs announced that they were quitting Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), the party supremo led a protest march to Bihar Assembly on Tuesday where he paraded his MLAs.

According to reports, nine MLAs have returned to his party.

RJD supremo Lalu Prasad on Tuesday slammed Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and blamed him of hatching a conspiracy to break his party.

"After murdering democracy, Nitish Kumar and the Speaker has run away. I am challenging them to come to the Assembly," he told media.

He said, " There is no crisis in the party anymore."

Reacting to the RJD chief's allegations, Nitish Kumar said, "I can't stop people from making allegations. RJD has differences. If people want to join us then we welcome them."

Giving a blow to the former Bihar chief minister, 13 MLAs of his party announced to quit on Monday just ahead of the Lok Sabha elections.

However, 6 of them later returned and denied reports of walking away from the RJD.

The six MLAs had alleged that their signatures on the letter sent to Bihar Speaker Uday Narain Choudhary had been forged, media reports said.

The rebelling MLAs met Bihar Speaker Uday Narain Choudhary on Monday and announced their decision to leave the party.

RJD MLA Samrat Chaudhary said they had written to the Vidhan Sabha Secretary on Feb 14 that 13 MLAs be provided separate seating arrangement or be allowed to merge with JD-U.

"Today we have got permission to sit separately as RJD has become a B team of Congress," said Chaudhary.

The Speaker allotted them separate sitting space, after which they announced that they would support the Nitish Kumar government, reports said.

This comes a day after Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) president Ram Vilas Paswan moved closer to the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leaving behind RJD and Congress, with whom it earlier aimed to ally.

Latest News: