New Delhi, Feb 21 IANS | 8 months ago

The civil aviation regulator Friday disposed of a special leave petitions (SLPs) of BJP leader Subramanian Swamy and the Federation of Indian Airlines (FIA) asking it not to grant an operating licence to AirAsia India.

"Director General of Civil Aviation (DGCA) has informed that both SLPs from Swamy and FIA on AirAsia issue have been disposed of," a ministry official said.

The rejection of the SLPs paves the way for granting air operator permit (AOP) or flying licence to the proposed low-cost airline.

AirAsia India had received no objection certificate (NOC) from the civil aviation ministry in September last year.

The DGCA had sought views from the general public and stakeholders on granting an air operator permit (AOP) to the airline under the aircraft rules.

According to the official, FIA had written to DGCA against granting the operating licence to AirAsia (India) pointing out that the step will drive the financially strained industry into more losses.

Swamy had also filed a petition in the Supreme Court against AirAsia's entry.

(Posted on 21-02-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |