London, Feb 20 IANS | 8 months ago

Discarded India batsman Virender Sehwag will captain the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) in the four-day Champion County match against Durham starting March 23 in Abu Dhabi, while Sri Lankan spin great Muttiah Muralitharan will lead the team in the preceding Emirates T20 tournament.

The pair will lead a squad that also includes England's Monty Panesar and Sri Lankan wicket-keeper Prasanna Jayawardene.

The MCC side will also include some bright young county talent including Kent's Daniel Bell-Drummond, Lancashire's Luis Reece and Middlesex opener Sam Robson - who has been on England Lions duty in Sri Lanka this winter.

Nottinghamshire trio Samit Patel, Andre Adams and England hopeful Harry Gurney are also included in the squad.

Sehwag, who is also confirmed to play in the MCC v Rest of the World Lord's Bicentenary Match July 5 said: "I was delighted to be asked to play in this match, and being able to captain the MCC side makes it even more of a privilege. We're taking a very strong squad out to Abu Dhabi so I'm sure the standard of cricket on show will be very high.

"It's also very exciting to be playing under lights with the pink ball. It's a big innovation for the game and I'm very keen to be involved in any initiative which aims to increase the appeal of cricket to a wider audience."

The MCC team will arrive in Abu Dhabi March 18 to take part in the Emirates T20 tournament which also features Lancashire, Sussex, Durham and a select Fly Emirates side.

Muralitharan will be making a special appearance for MCC in the tournament, which will be played under the MCC Spirit of Cricket banner and will feature the use of pink cricket balls.

MCC will take on 2013 County Champions Durham at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in a day-night match. This is the second time Durham have been involved in the fixture, having played in the first Champion County match in Abu Dhabi in 2010, coming out on top by 311 runs.

The traditional four-day County Champion match then gets underway Marc 23h and will be a day/night match also played with a pink ball.

MCC squad travelling to Abu Dhabi:

Virender Sehwag India - captain
Muttiah Muralitharan Sri Lanka - captain (T20 fixtures only)
Sam Robson Middlesex & England Lions
Luis Reece Lancashire
Daniel Bell-Drummond Kent
Samit Patel Nottinghamshire & England
Prassana Jayawardene Sri Lanka
Ollie Rayner Middlesex & England Lions
Andre Adams Nottinghamshire
Harry Gurney Nottinghamshire & England
Kyle Hogg Lancashire
Monty Panesar Essex & England

(Posted on 20-02-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |