New Delhi, Feb.17 ANI | 2 years ago

Aam Aadmi Party announced the list of new candidates on Monday which includes famous Bollywood playback singer Jaspinder Narula as well.

Narula would contest the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) leader, Sanjay Singh introduced and felicitated the new members at a news conference in New Delhi.

"Famous folk singer and Bollywood playback singer Jaspinder Narula has joined the party and she has expressed her will to work for the party in Punjab to help in strengthening the party in the state," said Singh.

Apart from Narula, others to join AAP are Geeta Arya, a former leader of Janata Dal-United (JD-U) from Bihar, Anil Kumar from Jharkhand, a Limca Book of Records holder.

On February 16, two days after AAP Chief Arvind Kejriwal stepped down as Delhi Chief Minister, the party had released the first list of 20 candidates and AAP announced that it would field journalist-turned politician Ashutosh against Union Minister Kapil Sibal and Mukul Tripathi against External Affairs Minister Salman Khurshid.

Senior AAP leader Manish Sisodia released a list of 20 candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

"Our political affairs committee has finalized named for 20 seats for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. Ashutosh will contest from the Chandni Chowk constituency against Kapil Sibal and Mukul Tripathi will be fielded against Salman Khurshid in Farrukhabad," he said.

Confirming that Kumar Vishwas will take on Rahul Gandhi in Amethi, Sisodia said that Anjani Damania would contest against Nitin Gadkari from Nagpur.

Sisodia added that senior advocate HS Phoolka will contest from Ludhiana against Information and Broadcasting Minister Manish Tewari, while Baba Hardev Singh will be the party's candidate against Samajwadi Party chief Mulayam Singh Yadav in Mainpuri.

Senior AAP leader Yogendra Yadav will contest polls from Gurgaon, while activist Medha Patkar has been given ticket from Mumbai North East.

(Posted on 18-02-2014)

Share This Page:

Free Yearly Horoscope: Select your zodiac sign

Pisces | Aquarius | Capricorn | Sagittarius | Scorpio | Libra | Virgo | Leo | Cancer | Gemini | Taurus | Aries