New Delhi, Feb 17 ANI | 7 months ago

Union Home Minister Sushil Kumar Shinde informed the Lok Sabha today that President's Rule has been imposed in Delhi following the resignation of Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal and his Council of Ministers.

He said the President accepted the resignations and Delhi Assembly is kept under suspended animation.

Making a suo moto statement in both Houses of Parliament, Shinde said: "I rise to inform the House that the Council of Ministers of the Government of the National Capital Territory of Delhi tendered its resignation on Friday, February 14, 2014."

"The resignation of the Council of Ministers of the Government of the National Capital Territory of Delhi came up after the inability of the Government of NCT of Delhi to successfully introduce the "Janlokpal Bill" for the consideration of the legislative assembly," he said.

"This Bill was a Finance Bill and necessitated prior reference to the Central Government by the Lieutenant Governor which procedure had not been followed by the Government of NCT of Delhi," he added.

"The Hon'ble President has accepted the resignation of Arvind Kejriwal, Chief Minister of the GNCT of Delhi and his Council of Ministers and also approved the imposition of President's Rule while keeping the legislative assembly in suspended animation," he said in the statement.

(Posted on 17-02-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |