New Delhi, Feb 17 IBNS | 8 months ago

Union Home Minister Sushilkumar Shinde on Monday said President's Rule has been approved for Delhi with the Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) government resigning over the Jan Lokpal Bill on Feb 14.

In a suo moto statement in the Lok Sabha on the state of affairs of the government of the national capital territory of Delhi, Shinde said: "I rise to inform the House that the Council of Ministers of the Government of the National Capital Territory of Delhi tendered its resignation on Friday, February 14, 2014."

"Under the circumstances, based on the report of the Lieutenant Governor and the recommendation of the Union Cabinet in its meeting held on 15.2.2014, the Hon'ble President has accepted the resignation of Shri Arvind Kejriwal, Chief Minister of the GNCT of Delhi and his Council of Ministers and also approved the imposition of President's Rule while keeping the Legislative Assembly in suspended animation," he said.

Shinde further said: "The resignation of the Council of Ministers of the Government of the National Capital Territory of Delhi came up after the inability of the Government of NCT of Delhi to successfully introduce the 'Janlokpal Bill' for the consideration of the Legislative Assembly.

"This Bill was a Finance Bill and necessitated prior reference to the Central Government by the Lieutenant Governor which procedure had not been followed by the Government of NCT of Delhi."

Hours after the AAP government-backed Jan Lokpal Bill was not tabled in the Delhi Assembly, Kejriwal resigned as the Delhi Chief Minister on Feb 14 after remaining in power for 49 days.

(Posted on 17-02-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |