New Delhi, Feb 17 IANS | 2 years ago

Justice Rajesh Kumar Agrawal and Justice Nuthalapati Venkata Ramana were sworn in the judges of the Supreme Court here Monday.

With their swearing-in, for the first time in several years the Supreme Court will have its full strength of 31 judges.

Prior to his elevation as the judge of the apex court, Justice Agrawal, 61, was the chief justice of the Madras High Court. He became the chief justice in October 2013.

Justice Agrawal was enrolled as an advocate in 1967 and was elevated as a permanent judge in February 1999.

Justice Ramana, 56, was the chief justice of Delhi High Court since Sep 2, 2013.

He also functioned as the acting chief justice of the Andhra Pradesh High Court from March 10, 2013, to May 20, 2013.

Justice Ramana had practiced in the Andhra High Court and was appointed its permanent judge June 27, 2000.

(Posted on 17-02-2014)

Share This Page:

Free Yearly Horoscope: Select your zodiac sign

Pisces | Aquarius | Capricorn | Sagittarius | Scorpio | Libra | Virgo | Leo | Cancer | Gemini | Taurus | Aries