New Delhi, Feb.15 ANI | 8 months ago

The Department of Posts has launched electronic Indian Postal Order (e-IPO) for payment of RTI fee/ cost by citizens' living in India.

Acting on Commodore Lokesh Batra's proposal of October 22, 2013, the Department of Posts launched and extended the facility for the payment of RTI fees and costs by our citizens' living in India.

According to Commodore Batra, the launching of the facility is the result of five years of efforts and the filing of over 150 RTIs.

Batra said it is a laudable achievement that the eIPO facility has also been extended to 176 Indian Missions abroad.

Under this service, the applicant needs to register at e-Post Office portal of India Post or through India Post web site (where a link for e-Post Office has been provided) to create his/ her profile for the first time.

Both debit and credit cards of any Bank powered by Visa/ Master can be used for this purpose.
P. Gopinath, Secretary, India Post, also launched two other services on the occasion: (i) Locality-based Pin Code Search Directory and (ii) Value addition to e-Post service.

'Locality Based Pin Code Search Directory' will facilitate the public to locate Pin Code up to locality level for usage of correct Pin Code on their mail articles thereby helping in expediting mail processing. This facility can be accessed through India Post web-site.

Presently, 'e-Post' facilitates the customer to send their messages to any address in India with a combination of electronic transmission and physical delivery through a network of almost 155, 000 post offices.
In addition, corporate customers can also avail e-Post facility at special rates and other value additions.
The new value additions to the e-Post service are as follows:

(i) Many to One: This facilitates sending of same ePost message from many senders to one recipient on recipient's email box; and

(ii) One to many: This facilitates sending of same ePost message from a sender to multiple recipients on recipient's email inbox.

(Posted on 16-02-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |