Mumbai, Feb.15 ANI | 9 months ago

Union New and Renewable Energy Minister Farooq Abdullah has expressed his anguish and pain over the recent incidents of pandemonium inside parliament over the Andhra Pradesh bifurcation issue, and said that lawmakers of today have no substance in them.

Referring to the pepper spray incident that disrupted proceedings in the Lok Sabha on February 13, Abdullah, condemning the incident on the sidelines of a function in Mumbai, said:"What happened in parliament pains me as a parliamentarian. I feel sad, because, parliament is there for discussion, and we have to discuss and sort out matters, and not by spraying pepper gas or, using pistols and guns. Those times are gone. The lot which is coming now, they don't believe in discussions, they just want to make noise."

After the incident on Thursday, parliament was adjourned. A few lawmakers were rushed away in an ambulance, while others were given first aid treatment at the spot.

The state assembly of Andhra Pradesh had earlier rejected the draft Bill to create a separate Telangana state.

On December 5, 2013, the Union Cabinet cleared the bill for the bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh to create a separate state of Telangana.

In July last year, the Congress Party approved the creation of a new Telangana state, which raised fears of violence in the area.

The proposal was received with mixed emotions across the state, with various politicians starkly opposing the bifurcation.

(Posted on 15-02-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |