Kathmandu, Feb 10 IANS | 8 months ago

Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh congratulated Nepal's new Prime Minister Sushil Koirala after his election Monday.

Manmohan Singh, in his message, said Koirala's election as prime minister represented an important milestone in consolidating the democratic gains in Nepal's political transition.

The Indian prime minister was the first head of government/state to send a congratulatory message to Koirala who was elected to the post of prime minister Monday through parliamentary voting.

"On behalf of the government and people of India, please accept my warm felicitation on your election to the high office of prime minister of Nepal. Your election represents one more important milestone in consolidating and institutionalising recent democratic gains in the course of the political transition in Nepal," Manmohan Singh said.

"I am confident that your wise leadership and guidance will further strengthen stability and economic development in Nepal, and foster a climate for promulgation of a new Constitution on the basis of the widest possible consensus and reflecting the will of all sections of the people of your nation," he added.

Manmohan Singh said India attaches the highest importance to its relations with Nepal.

"India, therefore, not only shares the aspirations of the people of Nepal for stability, democracy and prosperity, but also remains steadfast in our support to the government and people of Nepal in their endeavours to pursue that goal.

"We will continue to seek further deepening of this partnership between our two countries for the benefit of our people and our region," he said.

The Indian prime minister invited Koirala to visit India at his convenience.

"I also take this opportunity to extend a warm and cordial invitation to you to visit India at your convenience," the statement said.

(Posted on 10-02-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |