New Delhi, Feb 9 IANS | 9 months ago

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal Sunday said he will resign if the Congress does not support his government in passing the Jan Lokpal bill.

Kejriwal, whose Aam Aadmi Party government survives on outside support of the Congress, said he did not join politics to become chief minister and the Jan Lokpal bill and Delhi Nagar Swaraj bill were important for him.

Answering queries at a function here, he asserted that the permission of the central government was not needed to pass the Jan Lokpal bill.

He said his government intended to get Jan Lokpal and Swaraj bills passed in the assembly session, for which dates have already been suggested. The bills aim at decentralisation of power and provide for the formation of empowered "mohalla sabhas".

The two bills would be tabled in the assembly Feb 13, he said, adding that his government intended to get the Jan Lokpal bill passed at the Indira Gandhi Indoor Stadium Feb 16.

Kejriwal contended that the constitution provides that Delhi government can pass any law except those relating to police, law and order and land, and there was no need to send the Lokpal bill to the central government for prior clearance.

Asked what will he do if the Congress does not support the bill, Kejriwal said: "They may not do. If they do not support, I will resign. After that, people will teach them a lesson."

"For me, Swaraj bill is important, Jan Lokpal bill is important. I did not come to (politics) to become chief minister," he said.

"Hundreds of posts of chief minister can be sacrificed for the Jan Lokpal bill."

"The government will fall if the Jan Lokpal and Swaraj bills are not passed," Kejriwal said.

The AAP government has written to the home ministry seeking withdrawal of its 2002 order which directs the Delhi government to take approval of the ministry before passage of any bill in the assembly.

(Posted on 09-02-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |