• Thursday, 23 May 2019

India slams 'Referendum 2020', says it 'tantamounts to separatism'

Mar 16, 2019 (2 months ago) |
New Delhi, Mar 16 : India on Saturday slammed the so-called 'Referendum 2020' proposed to be held by some pro-Khalistan elements in a few countries, like UK and Canada, and said it has conveyed its objections over the move to the nations concerned, as it tantamounts to separatism.
The separatist Sikh organization, Sikhs For Justice, claims that it is an international advocacy group working for Punjab Independence Referendum 2020 for Sikhs' right to self-determination.

However, the outfit is allegedly backed and financed by Pakistan's spy agency, the ISI.

So-called referendum to be held by citizens who are not Indians and are citizens of other countries, it is inappropriate. Their citizens talking about referendum tantamount to separatism, said sources.

Asserting that 'Referendum 2020' is related to only overseas Sikh community, India has conveyed to those countries that it's a very minuscule part of Sikh community, an overwhelming majority of Sikhs are peace-loving and are focused on jobs and development.

Sources revealed that the organisation, having its presence in the United States and Canada, is also making monetary allurements to the youth in India's Punjab state.

Recently, the Pakistan government has reportedly allowed campaigners of 'Referendum2020' to open their office in Lahore to fan anti-India sentiments during the visit of thousands of Sikh pilgrims from various countries, including India, who were there to celebrate the 549th birth anniversary of the founder of Sikhism Guru Nanak Dev.

Like This Article?
India slams 'Referendum 2020', says it 'tantamounts to separatism'

contact Post your comment

category Read other India News stories

home page Visit Home Page for latest updates

Kerala Live Election 2019 Results | Election Results of Kasaragod | Election Results of Kannur | Election Results of Vatakara | Election Results of Wayanad | Election Results of Kozhikode | Election Results of Malappuram | Election Results of Ponnani | Election Results of Palakkad | Election Results of Alathur | Election Results of Thrissur | Election Results of Chalakudy | Election Results of Ernakulam | Election Results of Idukki | Election Results of Kottayam | Election Results of Alappuzha | Election Results of Mavelikkara | Election Results of Pathanamthitta | Election Results of Kollam | Election Results of Attingal | Election Results of Thiruvananthapuram |