You can soon delete 'sent messages' on WhatsApp
(8 months ago)
New York [USA], October 28 : Regretted sending the right message to the wrong person, or vice versa? Say no more; as the popular instant messaging platform, WhatsApp, has a solution to your problem.
The company is soon launching its "delete for everyone" option, which can enable users to delete a message that has already been sent, for all people within a conversation.
The much-anticipated solution, however, is still in its pilot phase, and has not been rolled out for WhatsApp's complete user base.
The company also revealed that the messages can be deleted only up to seven minutes after sending.
Following this, there is no way to delete messages for everyone, reports TechCrunch.
While the app's current delete feature only removes a message for the sender, the receiver can still read the message.
However, with the new update installed, users can delete specific messages sent to either a group or an individual chat.
Messages that are deleted for everyone will be replaced with "This message was deleted" in your recipients' chats. Also, if a "This message was deleted" notification appears, it signifies that the sender deleted their message for everyone.