OTTAWA, Aug. 24, 2017 : The Honourable Jean-Yves Duclos, Minister of Families, Children and Social Development, today announced the appointment of three new vice-chairpersons to the Social Security Tribunal of Canada.
Mrs. Dominique Forget, Mr. Guy Giguere and Ms. Jennifer Khurana were appointed for a term of five years, effective October 2, 2017.

Mrs. Forget has been appointed to the Income Security Section. She is currently the Senior Director, Registry, Operations and Tribunal Services at the Social Security Tribunal. She has extensive experience managing in a quasi-judicial environment. She was the Director of Investigations at the Public Service Commission of Canada. She also worked for 17 years at the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada, where she held a variety of positions. She holds a bachelor's degree in civil law from Universite de Sherbrooke, a bachelor's degree in common law from McGill University and a master's degree in communications from Universite de Montreal. She also completed the Certificate Program in Public Sector Leadership and Governance at the University of Ottawa.

Mr. Giguere has been appointed to the Appeal Division. He is a seasoned arbitrator and mediator with broad experience in administrative tribunals. He first served as a member and later as Deputy Chair of the Public Service Staff Relations Board. From 2005 to 2014, he presided as Chairperson of the Public Service Staffing Tribunal. In 2015, he was appointed President of Disciplinary Councils at the Office des professions du Quebec. He holds a civil law degree from Universite de Montreal and is a longstanding member of the Quebec Bar.

Ms. Khurana has been appointed to the Employment Insurance Section. She is currently a vice-chair at the Human Rights Tribunal of Ontario. She was also a member of the Social Benefits Tribunal of Ontario and Director of the International Humanitarian Law Unit at the American Red Cross. She also worked as External Relations Advisor and Legal Advisor at the International Criminal Court in The Hague. She holds a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Ottawa, a Bachelor of Laws from the University of Toronto and a Master of Laws in International Human Rights Law from Lund University in Sweden.

These appointments are part of the rigorous new approach to Governor in Council appointments. The approach uses open, transparent and merit-based selection processes, strives for gender parity and reflects Canada's diversity to support ministers in making appointment recommendations for positions within their portfolio. The Tribunal renders fair and impartial decisions on appeals regarding Canada Pension Plan, Old Age Security and Employment Insurance (EI) claims for benefits.


"I am pleased to announce the appointment of these new vice-chairpersons to the Tribunal. I am confident that they will be valuable assets in their new roles and will work to serve the interest of Canadians, while delivering just outcomes.
- The Honourable Jean-Yves Duclos, Minister of Families, Children and Social Development

Quick Facts
•The Tribunal is made up of two levels of appeal. The first level is the General Division which contains an EI section for EI appeals and Income Security section for Canada pension Plan and Old Age Security appeals. The second level is the Appeal Division.
•There are three vice-chairpersons on the Tribunal; one is responsible for the Appeal Division, one for the Income Security section and one for the EI section.
•The Tribunal began its operations on April 1, 2013.
•The Government of Canada is currently reviewing the Tribunal to ensure it meets the needs and expectations of Canadians.

(Posted on 24 August 2017, 1685693546 3O231O217O107)