Kolkata, Dec 6 IBNS | 2 years ago

Indian boys and girls emerged on top in the respective categories at the end of the second day of the Asia Pacific Junior Golf Championship being played at the Royal Calcutta Golf Club here on Friday.

On a day when the course played tough, Thailand's Suradit Yongcharoenchai shot 2-under par 70 to lead in the individual category.

The 15-year-old was level par 144 after 36 holes of play.

The duo combined together to take the lead in the team category as they established a four-shot lead over Chinese Taipei 'A' consisting of overnight leader Sung I Yu and Chun An Yu.

Thailand 'B' comprising of Ekthumrong Luanganuruk, Suradit Yongcharoenchai were in third place at 301.

Meanwhile, in the girls category which began today, India's Ridhima Dilawari shot a level par 72 to be tied for the top spot along with Min-Jou Chen of Chinese Taipei in the Girls (A&B) catgeory. Gurbani Singh was in third place at 73.

Ridhima had finished second at the All India Juniors at the very same venue last year which has also been her best finish of her career thus far.

The 15-year-old began on a solid note making pars on the first three holes while making a birdie on the par-5 fourth hole.

However, she hit a blue patch on when she made a bogey on the par-4 sixth and a double on the next hole to close her front nine at 2-over. She made amends on the back nine when she was on a birdie blitz making four birdies in five holes from 11th to 15th. A bogey each on the 16th and 18th, she was back to level par.

Top scores

Individual Boys (A&B) (36 holes)

144 Suradit Yongcharoenchai (THA) (74, 70); 146 Viraj Madappa (IND) (73, 73); 148 Manu Gandas (IND) (73, 75), Sung I Yu (69, 79); 150 Chun An Yu (Chinese Taipei) (76, 74); 152 Feroz Singh Garewal (IND) (75, 77); 154 Mohan Sardar (IND) (78, 76); 156 Natchapon Eaksen (THA) (78, 78), Karandeep Kochhar (IND) (75, 81), Chang-Heng Lin (Chinese Taipei) (74, 82); 157 Leon Philip D'souza (HK) (81, 76), Ekthumrong Luanganuruk (THA) (78, 79), Thanakorn Torsee (THA) (75, 82)

Individual Girls (A&B) (18 holes)

72 Min-Jou Chen (Chinese Taipei), Ridhima Dilawari (IND); 73 Gurbani Singh (IND); 74 Natnicha Chomchoei (THA); 75 Kai Wing Li (HK), Aditi Ashok (IND); 76 Cih-Hui Chen (Chinese Taipei); 77 Hsin-En Tsai (Chinese Taipei); 78 Yu-Hsin Chang (Chinese Taipei); 79 Pinyada Kuvanun (THA), Suchitra Ramesh (IND), Ying Tung Queenie Lai (HK)

Team Standings

Boys (36 holes)

294 India 'A' (Viraj Madappa, Manu Gandas); 298 Chinese Taipei 'A'(Sung I Yu, Chun An Yu); 301 Thailand 'B' (Ekthumrong Luanganuruk, Suradit Yongcharoenchai); 313 Thailand 'A' (Natchapon Eaksen, Thanakorn Torsee)

Girls (18 holes)

147 India 'B' (Ridhima Dilawari, Aditi Ashok); 150 Chinese Taipei (Min-Jou Chen, Yu-Shin Chang)

152 India 'A' (Gurbani Singh, Millie saroha)

Category C (18 holes)

76 Kshitij Naved Kaul (IND); 78 Sunhit Bishnoi (IND); 79 Saarthak Chhibber (IND); 82 Pratyush Sharma (IND), Chun Hin Mun (HK)

(Posted on 06-12-2013)