Rajasthan Assembly polls: 25 percent voting in first three hours

Jaipur, Dec 1 : About 25 percent electorate has cast their vote in the first three hours of polling in Rajasthan on Sunday.

Early voters include Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot in Sardarpura and State BJP President Vasundhara Raje in Jhalrapatan.

Voting, which began at 8 a.m., will end at 5 p.m. Polling is taking place for 199 seats in the 200 member assembly. Polling for Churu constituency has been postponed due to the death of BSP candidate

Over 4 crore 7 lakh voters will decide the fate of 2,087 candidates. Ruling Congress and main opposition party BJP are contesting all the seats, while BSP is contesting 195 and CPM 38 seats.

666 candidates of other parties and 758 independent candidates are also in the fray.
Prominent candidates in the fray include Ashok Gehlot, Vasundhara Raje, Chairperson of National Commission for Women Mamta Sharma, MP Kirodi Lal Meena and Athlete Krishna Poonia.

The election in Rajasthan is being seen as a litmus test for both the BJP and the Congress ahead of the 2014 general elections.

The counting of votes will take place on December 8.

--ANI (Posted on 01-12-2013)

rajasthan-news headlines

Tonk-Sawai Madhopur: Difficult pitch to bat on for Azhar (Election Special)

Rahul castigates BJP at Rajasthan rally

Over 63 percent vote in Rajasthan

Nearly a third of Rajasthan votes by noon

Polling picks up in Rajasthan

Rajasthan votes

NHRC directs Rajasthan government to compensate woman

BJP accuses Cong of buying fake 'likes' on facebook

Gehlot bewares people of Modi-Raje's false promises

Campaign ends in 20 constituencies of Rajasthan

CP Joshi and shooter Rajyavardhan take aim at each other

Campaign ends in 20 constituencies of Rajasthan

Quick Links: Goa | Munnar | Pondicherry | Free Yearly Horoscope '2014


Your e-mail:

Your Full Name:

Type verification image:
verification image, type it in the box


Back to Top