Jaipur, Dec 1 IBNS | 2 years ago

Amid tight security arrangement, voting in Rajasthan is underway on Sunday for 199 constituencies in the state.

The general populace comprising 4.08 crore voters in Rajasthan is exercising their franchise on Sunday to elect their representatives for 199 seats in the state.

After the demise of Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) candidate Jagdish Meghwal, the election has been deferred in Churu district till Dec 13, while polling at 199 seats out of 200 seats in Rajasthan is taking place on Sunday.

Over 47000 polling booths have been setup across the state.

For 199 assembly seats, voters will decide the fates of 2087 candidates including that of state Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot.

While the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Congress are racing for all seats, the National People's Party (NPP) has emerged as another strong party which is vying for 150 assembly seats and the BSP has fielded its candidates in over 100 seats to give a neck-to-neck competition to two major parties.

According to reports, BJP chief in Rajasthan Vasundhara Raje and Ashok Gehlot have cast their votes early in the day.

Counting of votes will take place on Dec 8.

(Posted on 01-12-2013)