BJP moves to EC against Arvind Kejriwal

New Delhi, Nov 25 : Ahead of the Delhi assembly elections, Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) chief Arvind Kejriwal has landed himself in yet another controversy after the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) complained to the Election Commission (EC) alleging that he has violated electoral laws by simultaneously being an elector in three constituencies.

The BJP has alleged that Kejriwal's name appears in the electoral list of Sahibabad (Ghaziabad), Sunder Nagari (Delhi) and Hanuman Road (New Delhi).

Following the allegations, the Election Commission on Monday initiated an inquiry against Kejriwal.

The Delhi BJP had approached the EC on Friday. The Commission has informed that any further step will be taken after the report is submitted.

However, a spokesperson of AAP clarified that the Commission had been already informed by Kejriwal to remove his name from the other two lists and retain the Hanuman Road one.

"It is up to the Election Commission to act on it now," the spokesperson said.

--IBNS (Posted on 25-11-2013)

more-news headlines

Two arrested for robbing Haryana policemen

Man nabbed for sodomy attempt on minor in Delhi

'Netaji' went 'mulayam' on rapists, says Modi

Ramdev says Congress desperate to create controversies against BJP

Militants kill sarpanch after kidnapping him in Kashmir

BJP criticizes Ajit Pawar for threatening Maharashtra farmers with water stoppage

Samajwadi Party appeals to EC to keep ban on Amit Shah

People will protest as we have challenged some 'vested interests': Kejriwal

Country divided in name of secularism: Modi

'Examine probability of reformimg toddler's murderer'

EC notice to Mulayam for violating model code

Two men stabbed to death in Delhi

Quick Links: Goa | Munnar | Pondicherry | Free Yearly Horoscope '2014


Your e-mail:

Your Full Name:

Type verification image:
verification image, type it in the box


Back to Top