technology-news

Jupiter destined Juno spacecraft resumes full flight operations

Washington, Oct. 12 : NASA's Juno spacecraft, which is on its way to Jupiter, resumed full flight operations at 5:12 p.m. ET Friday.


The probe had entered safe mode during its flyby of Earth, which provided the necessary gravity boost to accurately slingshot the probe towards Jupiter.

On Oct. 9, Juno past within 350 miles of the ocean just off the tip of South Africa at 3:21 p.m. EDT (12:21 PDT / 19:21 UTC).

Soon after closest approach, a signal was received by the European Space Agency's 15-meter antenna just north of Perth, Australia, indicating the spacecraft initiated an automated fault-protection action called "safe mode."

Safe mode is a state that the spacecraft may enter if its on-board computer perceives conditions on the spacecraft are not as expected.

Onboard Juno, the safe mode turned off instruments and a few non-critical spacecraft components, and pointed the spacecraft toward the Sun to ensure the solar arrays received power. The spacecraft acted as expected during the transition into and while in safe mode.

--ANI (Posted on 12-10-2013)

technology-news headlines

Speed-reading apps may impair reading ability: Study

Read tough data sheets on tablets with this device

Cow manure has new antibiotic resistance genes: Study

Soon, futuristic gadget that uses voice to control all aspects of home

Missing Xenon gas may be resting in earth's belly: Study

Wireless speaker with light sensors, microphone

An 'upside-down planet' discovered

Google search, navigation preferred apps among drivers

Biofuels from corn less beneficial than reported: Study

Smart cup that delivers coffee, news too!

In a first, stem cells cloned from human skin

Bulletproof vests from stem cells?

Quick Links: Goa | Munnar | Pondicherry | Free Yearly Horoscope '2014

Comments

Your e-mail:


Your Full Name:


Type verification image:
verification image, type it in the box

Message:

Back to Top